RBAC-disable access to other files then belongs to the user.

Submit your RBAC policies or suggest policy improvements

RBAC-disable access to other files then belongs to the user.

Postby bryn1u » Wed Jan 22, 2014 8:09 am

Hey,

Im new in RBAC policy. I use to gentoo-hardened. I used to FreeBSD and Mandatory Access Control like bsdextened (ugidfw) and i was wondering if can i achieve the same results what in MAC (FreeBSD). Mainly i want to disable possibilty watching, executing, moving to other files/folders/etc... then their own. Only access to /home/%u. Is that possible ?

Greetz,
Michał,
bryn1u

Re: RBAC-disable access to other files then belongs to the u

Postby mnalis » Sat Feb 01, 2014 4:08 pm

No, not really. There are no variables (templates) in grsec policy.

If your number of users is small enough you could do it manually:
Code: Select all
role user1 u
  subject /
     /home
     /home/user1 rwcdl

role user2 u
  subject /
     /home
     /home/user2 rwcdl

role user3 u
  subject /
     /home
     /home/user3 rwcdl

but that quickly gets out of hand, even if you use includes to avoid much copy/paste.

So the answer is no - not really. However, ordinary DAC should be enough to cover that simple case:

chmod 700 /home/*

ta-da! you've made sure each user is confined to his own home and can not do anything with other users homes.
Even if you need user web pages to work, DAC is good enough.
Assuming web server runs as group www-data (and using suexec or alike for scripts):
chmod 710 /home/*
chgrp www-data /home/*/public_html
chmod 2750 /home/*/public_html

users still cannot access anything in other users homedirs, but web server (and anybody else in group www-data) can still access public_html subdirs and everything in them.

if you have some specific, more complex problem to handle, describe it and people can try to show you best DAC/MAC combination to achive it.
mnalis

Postby countermode » Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:38 pm